Scroll to the next section

血糖測試

 

血糖測試

很多人以為他們可以憑感覺知道自己的血糖水平。但是,有些人在血糖水平偏低時仍會覺得精神奕奕,而有些人在血糖水平正常或偏高時會覺得精神不足。要準確得知血糖水平,唯一方法是測試您的血糖水平。

身體會從您進食的帶糖及澱粉食物中製造葡萄糖,但糖尿病會改變您身體控制血糖的方式。血糖水平亦可能受到其他因素的影響,例如︰活動、藥物(藥片/胰島素)改變、疾病及壓力。

研究顯示血糖維持於可接納目標範圍可有助防止糖尿病相關的併發症。您可以降低眼疾、腎病、神經損害及心臟問題的風險。瞭解平均血糖水平的方法亦可以幫助您在日常生活中感覺更佳。

甚麼是血糖測試?

血糖測試利用血糖儀(有時稱為「血糖監測系統」)進行。血糖測試讓您知道您的血液在任何特定時間含有多少葡萄糖。血糖測試十分簡便,只需使用採血針刺穿手指的側邊取得一滴血液。試紙在插入血糖儀後,將吸收血滴讓血糖儀進行測試。然後,血糖儀將會倒數並顯示測試結果。

為甚麼要進行血糖測試?

量度血糖水平是為幫助您及您的糖尿病醫護團隊決定最好的方式來監控您的糖尿病,以及評估您的治療效果。您將獲得建議,如何透過控制進食、運動及/或服藥而將您的血糖水平盡量保持在正常水平。

血糖監測將反映您的血糖控制情況,並顯示變化出現的時間。透過定期的自行測試、記錄結果及與您的糖尿病保健團隊審視結果,您將會學習如何調節您的糖尿病監控,以維持您的血糖水平在既定的目標內。

甚麼時間進行測試

您應該與您的糖尿病保健團隊討論血糖監測的時間及次數。您需要進行足夠的測試以顯示您的整體血糖趨勢,讓您及您的糖尿病保健團隊可得知您的治療及監控效果,以及在甚麼地方作出調整可能有用。您需要與您的醫護團隊協定進行測試的時間(例如 : 用餐前/後),而您應該在您的血糖測試記錄日誌中記下有關結果。您亦可使用拜耳GLUCOFACTS®Deluxe軟件協助您瞭解您的結果。

有些時候,您可能需要增加血糖測試的數目以取得更多資料並讓您更清楚發生甚麼事,例如︰當您感到不適、在更改藥物後、在活動增加時或感到壓力時。您應在駕車前進行血糖測試,以確定您的血糖水平並無出乎意料地改變而令駕駛變得危險。

目標水平

您應該與您的糖尿病保健團隊協定您的目標血糖水平,並為每日的不同時間及活動商討切實可行的目標,以確保您在任何時間均屬安全。

血糖測試的最重要提示

  • 在所有情況下均必須遵從血糖測試儀製造商的指示
  • 檢查所有糖尿病測試用品的使用期限
  • 在進行血糖測試前,用溫暖的梘水徹底洗淨雙手,以助清除任何污染物(例如,您曾進食食物遺留在手指上的糖分),並確保血液運行良好
  • 使用手指的兩側,因為這裡的敏感度低於指尖。避免使用拇指及食指,並更換位置以避免感染或產生老繭的風險
  • 如果您在取得足夠血液方面有困難,可以垂低手部讓地心吸引幫助血液流動至手指
  • 每次進行血糖測試時,更換手指刺穿用具,以減低不適、感染風險及確保可取得足夠血液
  • 在您的血糖測試記錄日誌中記下結果
  • 除了結果外,亦記下任何不正常事宜,以及它們是在餐前或餐後出現。在過後可能難以記起血糖測試時發生的其他事宜
  • 在每次與您的糖尿病保健團隊會面時,帶同或使用GLUCOFACTS®Deluxe糖尿病監測軟件(幫助您監控血糖水平的追蹤工具)列印您的血糖測試記錄日誌。

瞭解您的結果

為使用您的血糖測試結果以引導成功的監控,您需要瞭解如何詮釋有關結果。以下是一些對您有幫助的要點︰

  • 血糖監測系統︰不同的血糖監測儀器或血糖儀使用不同方法量度血糖水平,因而即使在同時間正確進行血糖測試,結果亦可能會有所不同。請僅使用一種血糖監測儀器以得知血糖趨勢的整體情況。
  • 實驗室結果與自行監測︰發送至醫院實驗室進行分析的血液樣本所得的結果可能較您從血糖儀所得的結果高出10-15%,原因是有些較舊的血糖儀會報告全血血糖的參考結果,而實驗室系統則報告血清參考結果。
  • 測試及檢查結果︰有些人以為他們可以憑感覺知道自己的血糖水平,但實際情況通常未必如此,而您應該經常進行測試來確定。如果您的血糖測試結果與您的感覺不符,請重新測試您的血糖水平,並確保測試是按血糖監測儀製造商的指示進行
  • 進行血糖監測的時間︰由於食物在進食後大約2小時,才會出現它對血糖的影響,因此在進食後即時進行血糖測試不會真正提供任何有用資料。
    • I如果您在進食後2小時的血糖水平高於您的既定目標範圍,您的碳水化合物份量可能太大,或您該餐的藥物份量可能不足。您應該與您的糖尿病保健團隊討論有關情況。
    • 血糖水平在運動後可能低於正常水平,並可能在持續數小時。如果您的血糖水平在運動後出現上升,您可能需要調整您的藥物(請與您的糖尿病保健團隊討論有關情況)。
    • 您的結果可能由於疾病、荷爾蒙變化(例如,在晚上、停經、月經周期)、壓力、藥物改變、飲食改變及運動減少而受影響。請與您的糖尿病保健團隊討論您的血糖水平變化。

甚麼是HbA1c?

HbA1c(糖化血色素)量度身體紅血球所黏附葡萄糖的分量,存在於每個人的身體裡,反映您在過去3個月的血糖監控狀況。您體內的HbA1c水平會隨著您的血糖水平而升或降 — 您的HbA1c越高,即表示有越多葡萄糖黏附在您的紅血球上。由於您的紅血球會留在血液循環內大約3至4個月,所以您的HbA1c水平不會出現急速變化。您的HbA1c將會在最少6個星期的期間後出現任何變化。

您的HbA1c結果以mmol/mol為單位作記錄。在2011年前,它是以百分比(%)作記錄的。

HbA1c監控

您的糖尿病保健團隊將會在診所覆診期間定期為您進行HbA1c檢查。您應該與您的團隊討論在考慮到您的生活方式、活動量及年齡後,訂定您的目標HbA1c。

HbA1c及血糖

下表顯示您自行量度的血糖水平與醫院量度您的HbA1c之間的關係。

HbA1c水平(%)

HbA1c水平(mmol/mol)

平均血清葡萄糖水平

6%

42 mmol/mol

7.5 mmol/L

7%

53 mmol/mol

9.4 mmol/L

8%

64 mmol/mol

11.3 mmol/L

9%

75 mmol/mol

13.3 mmol/L

10%

86 mmol/mol

15.3 mmol/L

11%

97 mmol/mol

17.2 mmol/L

12%

108 mmol/mol

19.1 mmol/L

研究顯示改善控制HbA1c將減低糖尿病併發症的風險。*

檢查您的HbA1c水平並記錄在您的血糖測試記錄日誌中。請緊記,您的血糖監控越良好,達到HbA1c目標的機會就越大。

最重要提示

請緊記︰

  • 血糖監控本身不會改善您的糖尿病。使用血糖測試所得資料才會令您的糖尿病監控有所改善
  • 您的HbA1c將會在最少6星期的期間後出現變化,所以不要預期您在進行飲食管理後會出現即時的轉變
  • 提升您的HbA1c監控可幫助減低出現糖尿病相關併發症的風險
  • 確保您會與您的糖尿病保健團隊討論您需要多久進行HbA1c測試,以幫助您控制您的血糖水平。

參考資料︰Ferenczi, Reddy, Lorber (2001) Effect of Immediate Hemoglobin A1c Results on Treatment Decisions in Office Practice. Endocrine Practice, 7(2).Stratton IM et al. UKPDS 35. BMJ 2000;321:405-412

Scroll to the next section

Blood Glucose Testing

 

Blood Glucose Testing

Many people think they can tell what their blood glucose (sometimes called blood sugar) levels are by how they feel. But, some people can feel "high" when their blood glucose levels are low, and some can feel "low" when their blood glucose levels are normal or high. The only way to know for sure is to test your blood glucose levels.

The body makes glucose from the sugary and starchy foods that you eat, but diabetes changes the way your body controls your blood glucose. Blood glucose levels are also affected by other things, such as activity, changes in medication (tablets / insulin), illness and stress.

Research shows that keeping blood glucose levels within an acceptable target range helps prevent the complications associated with diabetes. You can lower your risk of eye problems, kidney disease, nerve damage, and heart problems. Understanding how to balance your blood glucose levels may also help you feel better day to day.

What is blood glucose testing?

A blood glucose test is carried out using a blood glucose meter, sometimes called a blood glucose monitor. A blood glucose test tells you how much glucose is in your blood at any given time. A blood glucose test is performed simply and easily by pricking the side of your finger with a lancet to form a drop of blood. A test strip is inserted into the blood glucose meter and the strip sips in the blood for the meter to test. The blood glucose meter will then count down and display the result.

Why do a blood glucose test?

You will need to measure your blood glucose levels to help you and your diabetes team decide how best to manage your diabetes and to assess how well your treatment is working. You will be advised of ways to keep your blood glucose levels as close to normal as possible by managing your food intake, exercising and / or by taking medication.

Blood glucose monitoring provides you with a picture of your blood glucose control and indicates when changes occur. By self-testing regularly, recording your results and reviewing them with your diabetes care team, you will learn to adjust your diabetes management to maintain your blood glucose levels within agreed targets.

When to test

You should discuss the timing and frequency of blood glucose monitoring with your diabetes care team. You need to carry out enough tests to show your overall blood glucose trends so that you and your diabetes care team can see how well your treatment and management are working and where adjustments might be helpful. The times you need to test should be agreed between you and your care team (e.g. before / after meals), and you should keep a note of the results in your glucose testing record diary. You can also use Ascensia's GLUCOFACTS® Deluxe software to help you understand your results.

At times you may need to increase the number of blood glucose tests you take to get more information and give you a better picture of what is going on, e.g. when you are unwell, following medication changes, at times of increased activity or at times of stress. Be prepared to perform a blood glucose test before you drive to make sure that your blood glucose levels have not change unexpectedly, which would make it unsafe to be in control of a vehicle.

Target levels

You should agree your target blood glucose levels with your diabetes care team. Discuss realistic targets for various times of the day and activities to ensure that you are safe at all times.

Top blood glucose testing tips

  • Always follow the manufacturer’s instructions for your blood glucose meter
  • Check the expiry date on all diabetes testing supplies
  • Wash your hands thoroughly with warm soapy water and dry carefully before glucose testing. This will help get rid of any contaminants (e.g. sugar on your fingers from the food you have been eating), and will also ensure a good blood flow
  • Use the sides of your fingers, as these are less sensitive than the fingertips. Avoid the thumb and index finger and vary the sites to avoid the risk of infection or callous build up
  • If you struggle to obtain enough blood, hold your hand down to let gravity help the blood flow to the fingers
  • Change the lancet in the finger-pricking device every time you perform a blood glucose test. This will reduce discomfort, the risk of infection and ensure that enough blood is obtained
  • Record the results in your glucose testing record diary
  • Make a note of anything unusual alongside the results and whether they were taken before or after meals. Later on, it is not always easy to remember what else might have been happening at the time of the blood glucose test
  • Take your glucose testing record diary, or print out from your GLUCOFACTS® Deluxe diabetes management software (a tracking tool that helps you monitor your blood glucose levels), to all appointments with your diabetes care team.

Understanding your results

In order to use your blood glucose results to guide management successfully, you need to understand how to interpret them. Here are some points to help you do this:

  • Glucose monitoring systems: different glucose monitoring devices or blood glucose meters use different methods to measure blood glucose levels and may give different results, even if the blood glucose tests have been performed correctly and at the same time. Use only one type of glucose monitoring device to obtain an overall picture of your blood glucose trends
  • Laboratory results versus self-monitoring: blood samples sent to the hospital laboratory for analysis may return results that are 10-15% higher than the results you get from a blood glucose meter. This is because some older blood glucose meters report whole blood glucose referenced results whereas laboratory systems report plasma referenced results.
  • Test and check the results: some people think they can tell what their blood glucose levels are by how they feel, but this is often not the case and you should always test to be sure. If your blood glucose test result does not match the way your feel, retest your blood glucose levels and make sure the test is performed as instructed by the manufacturer of the glucose monitoring device
  • Timing of blood glucose monitoring: it takes about 2 hours before you can tell the effect that your meal has had on your blood glucose levels. Blood glucose tests carried out immediately after eating will not really provide any useful information.
    • If your blood glucose levels are higher than your agreed target range 2 hours after eating, your carbohydrate servings may have been too large, or your medication dose could have been inadequate for that meal. You should discuss this with your diabetes care team.
    • Blood glucose levels can be lower than normal after exercise, and may remain lower than normal for several hours. If your blood glucose increases after exercise, you may need to adjust your medication (discuss this with your diabetes care team)
    • Your results can be affected by illness, hormonal changes (e.g. during the night, menopause, menstrual cycles), stress, changes in medication, changes in dietary intake and reduced levels of physical activity. Discuss changes in your blood glucose levels with your diabetes care team.

What is HbA1c?

HbA1c (glycosylated haemoglobin) is a measure of the amount of glucose attached to the body’s red blood cells; it is present in everyone. It gives an indication of your blood glucose control over the last 3 months. The level of HbA1c in your body rises and falls in line with your blood glucose – the higher your HbA1c, the more glucose is attached to your red blood cells. Your HbA1c does not change rapidly because the red blood cells in your circulation last for around 3–4 months. Any increases and decreases in your HbA1c will happen over a period of at least 6 weeks.

Your HbA1c results is recorded in mmol/mol. It was recorded as a percentage (%) until 2011.

HbA1c monitoring

Your diabetes team will check your HbA1c regularly during clinic visits. You should talk to your team about the target HbA1c you want to achieve given your lifestyle, activity level and age.

HbA1c and blood glucose

The chart below shows the relationship between the blood glucose level that you measure yourself and your HbA1c measurements from the hospital.

HbA1c level (%)

HbA1c level (mmol/mol)

Average plasma glucose level

6%

42 mmol/mol

7.5 mmol/L

7%

53 mmol/mol

9.4 mmol/L

8%

64 mmol/mol

11.3 mmol/L

9%

75 mmol/mol

13.3 mmol/L

10%

86 mmol/mol

15.3 mmol/L

11%

97 mmol/mol

17.2 mmol/L

12%

108 mmol/mol

19.1 mmol/L

Research shows that improved control of HbA1c will decrease the risk of diabetes complications.*

Find out what your HbA1c is and keep a record of it in your glucose testing record diary. Remember, the better your blood glucose control, the more likely you are to achieve your HbA1c target.

Top tips

Remember that:

  • Blood glucose monitoring alone does not improve your diabetes. It is how you use the information from your glucose testing that makes the difference to your diabetes control
  • Changes in your HbA1c will happen over a period of at least 6 weeks; do not expect to see immediate changes in response to changes you make to your diabetes management
  • Improving your HbA1c control can help decrease your risk of developing complications associated with your diabetes
  • Make sure you discuss with your diabetes care team how often you need to have your HbA1c tested to help you gain control of your blood glucose.
  • References: Ferenczi, Reddy, Lorber (2001) Effect of Immediate Hemoglobin A1c Results on Treatment Decisions in Office Practice. Endocrine Practice, 7(2).Stratton IM et al. UKPDS 35. BMJ 2000;321:405-412